Fear of Rejection

I’m in an anchor group (group of women studying God’s word together once a week) with my church and we had a wonderful discussion this week about fear of rejection. When we know Jesus is the only way to give us fulfillment, why are we so scared to tell people. It should be something we want to tell everyone! I can admit to not telling people I am a believer because I am scared I am not going to be liked. And that was a common theme in our group is that they don’t speak up about it more because they want to be liked by other people. Even just small things like praying before a meal they won’t do because they think people will judge them. They are going to think you are going to judge them, not want to be your friend, or try to shove the gospel down their throat. 

But in Radical by David Platt, he talks about going overseas where they are persecuted for being a christian. But they want to meet in secret and learn everything they can about Jesus.  But by doing this they are putting their life in danger. . How hard can it be for us where we are allowed to talk about it and our life is not in danger?  It can even be just as simple as asking someone to go to church with you.   

Even in the bible it says we are going to be persecuted for our faith.  It is not a matter of if, it is a matter of when.  

“Indeed, all who desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted” 2 Timothy 3:12

“And you will be hated by all for my name’s sake. But the one who endure to the end will be saved.” Matthew 10:22

I am a naturally shy person, so I am going to pray for boldness.  It is scary to talk about your faith, but this is what Jesus calls us to do.  We are here to glorify him and let him be known.  I also am going to pray for opportunities to share my faith,  so that I can share what Jesus has done in my life. 

 

Also since I am trying to train for a 8k on Thanksgiving, I want to share what I ran this week.

Sunday 1.44 miles in14:52 (running with a friend who hasn’t ran in awhile and it was hot) 

Monday 2.1 miles in 21:07 (actually ran most of the time and I was very proud of myself)

Wednesday 1.33 in 15:21 (ran to soon after eating) 

Saturday 2.27 in 23.27  (trying to do a little bit longer runs on Saturday)

 

 

Leave a Reply

